Album Review: The Amity Affliction – Misery

A review on Misery, the sixth full album from Australia’s The Amity Affliction.

The Amity Affliction is an Australian metalcore band from GympieQueensland, formed in 2003. The band’s current line-up consists of Ahren Stringer (clean vocals, keyboards, bass), Joel Birch (unclean vocals), and Dan Brown (guitar). The Amity Affliction has released five studio albums including Severed Ties (2008), Youngbloods (2010) which debuted at number 6 on the ARIA ChartsChasing Ghosts (2012) which debuted at number 1 on the ARIA charts, Let The Ocean Take Me (2014) and This Could Be Heartbreak (2016), both also debuting at number 1. On 13 November 2015, The Amity Affliction also released a single called “Shine On“. They are known for their highly personal songs, often dealing with depression, anxiety, substance abuse, and suicide, many lyrics stemming from vocalist Joel Birch’s past struggles. As of August 2018, the band has sold more than 145,000 records.

Misery is the sixth studio album by Australian metalcore band The Amity Affliction. The album was released on 24 August 2018. It is the first album without drummer Ryan Burt, following his departure in February 2018.

#TheAmityAffliction #Misery #AmityAffliction

The Breakdown

Overall, Misery is an admirable attempt at changing up the status quo but misses the mark through different choices being made in production, lyric writing and reliance on the synthesizer. I feel like die hard/longtime fans of The Amity Affliction might be ok with this full album…but even then I’m not so sure. This album isn’t total Misery, but it should have been so much more.



Previous post
Adelitas Way Announce Tour in Support of FOZZY
Next post
Atreyu Announce New Album "In Our Wake," Drop Two New Songs

Album Review: The Amity Affliction – Misery