Home Press Releases MISERY INDEX Premiere “History is Rotten” Mini-Documentary

MISERY INDEX Premiere “History is Rotten” Mini-Documentary

Death metal stalwarts MISERY INDEX have teamed up with Metal Hammer (UK) to premiere their brand new mini-documentary, “History is Rotten,” which explores the history of the band. You can watch the documentary in full HERE.

Moreover, MISERY INDEX have kicked off their European tour, in which they will be supporting NAPALM DEATH along with label-mates ROTTEN SOUND. The first two shows have already sold out in advance. The full itinerary can be found below.

MISERY INDEX will be touring in support of 2019’s ‘Rituals of Power,’ which can be heard in full HERE.

‘Rituals of Power’ can be purchased HERE.

1. Universal Untruths (2:35)
2. Decline and Fall (4:36)
3. The Choir Invisible (4:26)
4. New Salem (3:24)
5. Hammering the Nails (3:46)
6. Rituals of Power (5:20)
7. They Always Come Back (5:08)
8. I Disavow (4:21)
9. Naysayer (2:26)

The band comment on the album: “‘Rituals of Power’ is a disavowal and warning against the consequences of our so-called ‘post-truth’ age. Each of the 9 songs revolves loosely around this theme, yet each track also stands very much on its own. As an album however, they are all brought to life as one ‘reanimated’ monster; it’s roughly 35 minutes of unhinged, yet cohesive, riff-driven aural ballistics. We were pissed off and on fire during both the writing and recording, and we think it shows in spades. We set out to write the best album we could, based on what we would want to hear first as fans of this music, and we could not be happier.”

MISERY INDEX return furiously with their brand new album, ‘Rituals of Power’! With their sixth full-length, the American icons of hard hitting brutality display the strength of maturity grown out of the experience gained as a relentless touring machine. The general trend of their continuous evolution to incorporate less core elements and move towards classic death metal finds a new high water mark.

When their debut EP ‘Overthrow’ was recorded in 2001 by vocalist and bassist Jason Netherton (ex-DYING FETUS) together with (then) guitarist and vocalist Mike Harrison and drummer Kevin Talley (ex-DYING FETUS), MISERY INDEX immediately charted a course to explore and push the limits of Death Metal and Grindcore, drawing influence from bands like MORBID ANGEL, NAPALM DEATH, TERRORIZER, BOLT THROWER and ENTOMBED. The erstwhile project shifted to a full time band when guitarist Sparky Voyles (ex-DYING FETUS) joined.

In 2003, MISERY INDEX unleashed their first full-length ‘Retaliate’, to exceptional reviews and followed by numerous support tours and festivals in Europe and North America. After several line-up changes, second album ‘Discordia’ was released in 2006 with even more touring in its wake. Their third full-length, ‘Traitors’ (2008) reaped raving reactions from both critics and fans and saw the band on the road again until 2009. Then MISERY INDEX dropped ‘Heirs to Thievery’ (2010) like a bomb on the Death Metal masses, shattering all expectations. The album was both a commercial and critical success, elevating the band to headlining slots. During that year, long time guitarist Sparky Voyles was replaced by Darin Morris.

A string of shows and festivals around the globe followed and on the Munich date of ‘Full of Hate Tour’ alongside CANNIBAL CORPSE, BEHEMOTH and LEGION OF THE DAMNED, the band recorded their first live album. Released early 2013, ‘Live in Munich’ perfectly epitomized the rawness and ferocity that MISERY INDEX elevated onto a new level with their fifth full length “The Killing Gods” in 2014. 

Now with “Rituals of Power”, revolving around the concept of “truth”, MISERY INDEX are back with nine crushing tracks which tackle how ‘truth’ has been constructed and molded throughout history as a means to uphold power, regimes and ideologies. Brace, hold tight and run for cover, the wrath of MISERY INDEX is upon us and they are more furious than they’ve ever been. 

+Napalm Death +Eyehategod +Rotten Sound +Bat

02/07: Oberhausen (DE) @ Kulttempel (Sold out!)
02/08: Hamburg (DE) @ Gruenspan (Sold out!)
02/09: Nuremberg (DE) @ Der Hirsch
02/11: Vienna (AT) @ Arena
02/12: Prague (CZ) @ Roxy
02/13: Leipzig (DE) @ Werk 2
02/14: Berlin (DE) @ Astra
02/15: Mannheim (DE) @ MS Complex
02/16: Antwerpen (BE) @ Trix
02/18: Bournemouth (UK) @ The Old Fire Station
02/19: Cardiff (UK) @ Tramshed
02/20: Brimingham (UK) @ O2 Institute
02/21: Glasgow (UK) @ Slay
02/22: Leeds (UK) @ Stylus
02/23: London (UK) @ The Electric Ballroom
02/25: Haarlem (NL) @ Patronaat
02/26: Saarbrucken (DE) @ Garage
02/27: Lyon (FR) @ Ninkasi Kao
02/28: Nantes (FR) @ Warehouse
02/29: Toulouse (FR) @ Metronum
03/01: Biarritz (FR) @ Atabal
03/03: Paris (FR) @ La Machine du Moulin Rouge
03/04: Stuttgart (DE) @ Im Wizemann
03/05: Lindau (DE) @ Club Vaudeville
03/06: Muncich (DE) @ Backstage
03/07: Zurich (CH) @ Meh Suff! Winter Fest
03/08: Cologne (DE) @ Essigfabrik

Tickets: https://www.bandsintown.com/en/a/4488-misery-index

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram